Alun Auty

Robert Francis


Pen-y-pound Stadium



Royal blue shirts, shorts and socks


Red shirts, shorts and socks

Abergavenny Town

Pen-y-pound Stadium, Abergavenny


Alun Auty

01873 852379

07946 316022

Alternative Secretary

Robert Francis

01873 831586

07999 538478

Abergavenny Town FC History

Without doubt the most famous Football Club in Abergavenny was Abergavenny Thursdays who were Welsh League Champions in 1958/59, 1959/60, 1990/91 and 1991/92.

1992 saw them become founder members of the Konica League of Wales (Welsh Premier League). However this was only short lived and they were relegated back to the Welsh League after just one season. Unfortunately the good times never returned to Pen-y-pound Stadium and after falling into the Gwent County League (Div3), Thursdays withdrew in August 2013, citing a lack of players as the reason, and subsequently folded, although Abergavenny Thursdays Trust still remains administering Pen-y-pound Stadium.

Most village communities around Abergavenny also host local football teams, and Govilon AFC began over 100 years ago. Playing mainly at District level throughout that time, they won the Gwent Central League gaining admittance to the Gwent County League in 2007/08. They climbed rapidly through the divisions to Div1 winning both the Gwent Amateur Cup and the Gwent County Challenge Cup on the way. Following the Thursday's demise, Govilon moved into Pen-y-pound Stadium for 2013/14 season, finishing a creditable 5th place. For 2014/15 the club changed its name to Abergavenny Town FC, quickly building an excellent fan base by producing an outstanding standard of football winning the Gwent County League Div1 after droping only two league points all season and reaching the Semi-final stage of the FAW Trophy.

Gaining entrance to the Nathaniel Cars Welsh League for 2015/16 season, Town continued to progress, and after a hard fought promotion battle between Pontpridd Town (winners), Abergavenny and Bridgend Street, which went right down to the final week of the season, Town ended in 2nd place and gained further promotion to Div2 for 2016/17. The disappointment of not reaching the final of the FAW Trophy in 2014/15 was overcome by going one better and winning the Trophy, beating Sully Sports 1-0 in the final played at Dragon Park, Newport, to complete yet another memorable season for the "Town"

Pen-y-pound Stadium





Ben Bannon

Striker/Midfield. Plenty of WPL experience

Jac Evans

Defender. Ever present in season 2014/2015 who has made the left back position his own. Local player.

Tom Indge

Veteran goalkeeper with experience at both Southampton and Everton. Well known in WL circles.

Richard Jeremiah

Striker.Signed from Pilcs for season 2015/2016 Richard is a local boy with proven goal scorong ability

Aaron Norman

Midfield. Joined the Town at the start of season 2014/15 and was an ever-present.

Owen Vaughan

Striker. Joined form local side Mardy AFC at the start of season 2105/16.

Curtis Methven
Nathan Davies
George Clarke
Sean Feeley

Striker, signed this season from Croesyceiliog

Callum Evans

Defence/midfield, previously with Ynysddu Welfare

Drew Heffernan

Defender, local player, product of development squad, now making first team position his own.

Ross Oakley

Defender signed from Goytre AFC

Ross Davies

Defender, back at club after a spell at RTB Ebbw Vale

Bradd Jones

Midfield, previously with Treharris

Joe Palmer

Defender, now back at the Club after several seasons with Swansea University

Rhys Tandy

Striker, signed this season from Aberdare Town, prolific marksman, very quick.

William Duggan

Young, local player signed this season from Gwent County league, exciting prospect

Eoin Duggan
Lance Lewis
Toby Purvis
Daniel Hartland

Prolific scorer, signed from now defunct Brynmawr FC