Adam Bird


GenQuip Stadium



Blue Shirts, Shorts and Socks


Yellow Shirts and Shorts with Blue Socks

Port Talbot Town

GenQuip Stadium , Port Talbot


Adam Bird


Alternative Secretary

Formed initially in 1901, Port Talbot spent their early years playing in the Swansea Senior League – starting at the bottom end of the Welsh pyramid.

In the 1928/29 season a team sporting the name Seaside Athletic were competing in the Welsh League Division 2 Western Section, and sources say this was the same club that formed in 1901.

Port Talbot continued to ply their trade in the Second Division until 1956/57, when they won promotion to the top flight. They were never comfortable, and it was no surprise when they were relegated after just one season.

Season 1964/65 saw the re-organisation of the league, and Port Talbot found themselves in the new Division One. However, relegation to the second division came in 1970/71, a major setback for the club.

A long hard slog in the lower echelons ended in 1982/83 when they finished as runners up to Tondu Robins, and won promotion to the first division. Port Talbot were included in the prestigious new National Division of the Welsh League in 1984/85, and stayed there until 1990/91 when they were relegated after a lamentable season.

The club missed out on a place in the inaugural League of Wales, and worse was to follow when they were relegated to the present Division 2 in 1993/94. Better times arrived under the leadership of Steve Llewellyn and Alan Meacham, and the club won back their place in the top division with a last day promotion at local rivals Goytre United in 1995/96.

The success of the 1999/2000 season saw the club promoted to the League of Wales a year ahead of schedule and the introduction of two junior teams and a youth team in the MacWhirter Youth League. Many improvements were carried out to the Victoria Road Ground with refurbished dressing rooms, a new 260- seater stand, floodlights, television camera gantry, turnstiles and a hard standing around the pitch.

To mark their centenary year, the club’s title was changed from Port Talbot Athletic to Port Talbot Town at the start of the 2001/2002 season. The club reached the semi-finals of the Welsh Cup in 2003/4 for the first time in their history, but hopes of a foray into Europe were dashed in a 1-0 defeat by TNS at Park Avenue.

A superb season in 2009-2010 saw the club qualify for the UEFA Europa League for the first time with a 3rd place finish. Playing Finnish outfit FC Turku over two legs.

The club also reached the Welsh Cup Final for the first time but narrowly lost 3-2 to Bangor City at Parc-y-Scarlets.

The 2015/2016 Welsh Premier League season saw Andy Dyer’s Blues make it to the semi-final stage of the Welsh Cup, bowing out to Airbus with a 7-0 drubbing.

Just weeks later, the club was relegated from the Welsh Premier League, despite finishing above the relegation places – with a 10th placed finish. The club had been refused an FAW Domestic License by the FAW on financial grounds, the club appealed but it was rejected.

The club then underwent a major overhaul of its internal structure, with a new chairman, vice-chairman, secretary and treasurer being appointed, and a committee consisting of staff and fans alike being formed. The wage bill for the 2016/2017 was cut massively in order to keep the club sustainable going forward, with the club looking to Academy and proven Welsh League players to play in the first-team.

GenQuip Stadium

Victoria Road

Port Talbot

SA12 6AD


Remi Whitelock

Remi signed for Tata Steel in January 2016

Lewis Holmes
Adam Jenkins
Nico Watkins
James Harris
Ryan Morgan
Jordan Pike
Jackson Hall
Mathew Birdsey
Kieran Miller
Kean Watts
Dylan Thomas
Blake Morgan
Nikki Parvin
Morgan Thomas
Patrick Finneral
Lloyd Jones
Owain Davies
Ben Wayman
Dylan Llewellyn
Chris Silva
Jake Hammond
Arron Williams
Bailey Embling-Jones
Thomas Barber
Charlie Fripp
Ben Rose-Mills
Niall O'Donnell
Jandir Zola
John Hall
Connor Harris
Joel Whittingham
Owen Williams
Jamie Rano
Shaun James
Ryan Morgan