- Gwent Weekend Roundup

GOYTRE increased their lead at the top of the Division One table with victory over visiting Cwmbran Celtic while struggling Monmouth Town did their county neighbours a favour by holding second-placed Cambrian & Clydach to a draw.

Both Abergavenny Town and Risca United secured League Cup quarter-final places, although there were competition exits for Undy Athletic, Panteg and Treowen Stars.

Joint Goytre managers Carl Evans and Lee Relish had taken their side to the summit on goal difference only from C&C and were seeking a third successive victory when hosting Cwmbran Celtic, whose recent patchy form had seen them drop to fifth spot.

However it was Celtic who scored first at Plough Road via former Goytre forward James Young, who so nearly made it 2-0 when he struck the crossbar - but it proved to be the visitor's only bright moments as Goytre eventually clinched a seventh win in 11 starts thanks to goals from Dan MacDonald (penalty) and Sam O'Sullivan.

Goytre cleared a couple of Celtic shots off their own line while some neutrals expressed an opinion perhaps the visitors deserved to have travelled home with a point. 

Goytre now head C&C by a couple of points and third-placed Caerau (Ely) by five while Celtic remain in the same position as a result of a fourth defeat in 10 league fixtures.

One-from-the-bottom Monmouth entertained C&C at their Sportsground HQ knowing success would take them about both Port Talbot Town and Risca, who where in League Cup action.   

The visitors led 2-1 at the break with Kazeem Kareem netting for Monmouth before Newport County loanee Daffyd Jones levelled matters from the penalty spot during the second period to take his campaign league tally to seven.

The Kingfishers are still 15th of 16 with not-in-action Caldicot Town remaining as the only side below them.

In Division Two, it was certainly a day to forget for both Croesyceiliog and Newport City, who lost 5-0 and 3-0 at home against AFC Porth and Briton Ferry Llansawel respectively.
Croesyceiliog dropped one rung to 11th with City slipping below Swansea-based West End to the very bottom.

Caerleon were the only local club on Division Three duty, although they failed to record a third win on the bounce in losing 4-2 away against leaders Caerau (Maesteg).
Jamie Davies and Lewis Grant were the scorers for Caerleon, who are down one to 10th with Caerau taking their 100 per cent win record to seven.

Division One outfit Risca and second-tier side Abergavenny will look towards the League Cup last-eight draw which will also include holders Taffs Well, Caerau (Ely), Haverfordwest County, Cardiff-based Bridgend Street, Llanelli Town and Llantwit Major.

Risca put a poor run of five consecutive league defeats behind them in winning 2-0 away against Division Two club Pontardawe while Abergavenny bridged a divisional gap to see off visiting Port Talbot Town 3-1.

Risca opened the scoring via Seb Haggett with an own goal from Pontardawe's Luke Harris confirming their victory, Abergavenny's efforts came from Craig Norman, Sean Feeley and Dane Griffiths - Luke Bowen grabbing Port Talbot's consolation.

Undy played well, but still went down 2-1 at home to Caerau (Ely) with James Barnes scoring with just a couple of minutes left at The Causeway while Panteg and Treowen lost 3-2 and 4-2 at home and away to Bridgend Street and Taffs Well respectively.

Scoring for Panteg, whose tie went into extra time following a 1-1 draw after 90 minutes, were Luke Dyke and Lewis Iles with Ebenezer Natey and Grant Jones on target for Treowen - who were level at 2-2 at one stage.

Gwent goalscorers (League only) - 2016-2017.

MONMOUTH Town's Newport County loanee Daffyd Jones was the highest-placed scorer on Saturday, when he netted in a 2-2 home draw against Cambrian & Clydach to take his campaign tally to seven.

12: Josh Brown (Goytre).

8: Luke Dyke (Panteg); Lewis Iles (Panteg).

7: Chris Ham (Cwmbran Celtic, now of Westfields FC); Daffyd Jones (Monmouth Town); Ian Pettit (Tredegar Town); Leo Ross (Chepstow Town).

6: Gareth Cullimore (Undy Athletic); Jamie Davies (Caerleon).

5: Nick Harrhy (Monmouth Town, now of Westfields FC); Dan McDonald (Goytre).

4: Lewis Bamford (Chepstow Town); Josh Bull (Cwmbran Celtic); Nick McGrath (Croesyceiliog) Dan Richards (Aberbergoed Buds); Zac Osbourne (Croesyceiliog); Marcus Power (Undy Athletic).

3: Scott Armitage (Aberbargoed Buds); Sean Feeley (Abergavenny Town); Seb Haggett (Risca United); William Lygo (Croesyceiliog); Nathan Murphy (Caerleon); Ben Smith (Caldicot Town); Callum Smith (Newport City); Lewis Sommers (Goytre); Levi Rees (Aberbargoed Buds); Jason Thorn (Chepstow Town); Ben Walker (Panteg); Kyle Williams (Risca United).

2: Owen Badham (Chepstow Town); Brad Baker (Risca United); James Barnes (Undy Athletic); Dan Battle (Risca United, now of RTB Ebbw Vale); Tom Berry (Risca United); Dafydd Brewer (Abergavenny Town); Owen Cook (Cwmbran Celtic); Elliott Ford (Monmouth Town); Dane Griffiths (Abergavenny Town); Alex Jarman (Caldicot Town); Lloyd Kinsella (Cwmbran Celtic); Luke Lewis (Abergavenny Town); Craig Norman (Abergavenny Town); Sam Palmer (Monmouth Town); Lee Penry (Cwmbran Celtic); Matthew Prosser (Goytre); Jake Robinson (Monmouth Town); Sam Rushworth (Chepstow Town); Richard Sharratt (Caldicot Town); Ben Siggins (Caerleon); Dan Suter (Treowen Stars); Jake Young (Caerleon).

1: Ricky Amos (Treowen Stars); Declan Bull (Abergavenny Town); Ryan Carniff (Tredegar Town); Paul Clayton (Undy Athletic); Gary Colbourne (Goytre); Andrew Coleman (Newport City); Nathan Davies (Goytre); Ryan Dorrian (Panteg); Ben Evans (Croesyceiliog); Ashley Ford (Monmouth Town); Rory Garey (Caldicot Town); James Gidney (Caldicot Town); Gareth Heywood (Undy Athletic); Dan Jarman (Undy Athletic); Ben Jones (Abergavenny Town); Grant Jones (Treowen Stars); Matthew Jones (Treowen Stars); Scott Jones (Treowen Stars); Kazeem Kareem (Monmouth Town); Kris Leek (Goytre); Craig Lewis (Monmouth Town); Grant Lewis (Caerleon); Adrian McGuire (Cwmbran Celtic); Ian McIntosh (Panteg); Sam O'Sullivan (Goytre); Lewis Parfitt (Tredegar Town); Shane Parry (Risca United); Rakesh Patel (Cwmbran Celtic); James Perrett (Newport City); Dave Powell (Croesyceiliog); Luke Prosser (Goytre); Ian Protheroe (Treowen Stars); Dean Randall (Treowen Stars); Mitchel Slape (Caldicot Town); Adam Wakley (Chepstow Town); Tony Wallis (Caldicot Town); Chris White (Panteg); Garin Withers (Caldicot Town); Conor Yeates (Chepstow Town); Nial Yeates (Cwmbran Celtic); James Young (Cwmbran Celtic).

Clean-sheets (League only).

4: Undy Athletic.

2: Croesyceiliog; Cwmbran Celtic; Goytre; Risca United.

1: Caerleon; Caldicot Town; Newport City; Treowen Stars.